Kevin Techau
Executive Director


(March, 2020) – Governor Kim Reynolds is proclaiming April as Keep Iowa Beautiful month. The proclamation will encourage all citizens to help plan and participate in local programs that will enhance the cleanliness and beauty of our communities and state. During the Statehouse ceremony Monday, March 23rd at 1:30pm she will also be presenting the winners of KIB’s annual awards program and three high school scholarships.

Keep Iowa Beautiful award winners are:

First Trust & Savings Bank of Wheatland is receiving the 2020 Keep Iowa Beautiful Corporation Award for its outstanding corporate citizenship. The financial commitments to local projects and encouraging employees to be involved in leadership roles on local committees are making our communities and our state a better place to live and work.

Iowa’s County Conservation System is receiving the 2020 Keep Iowa Beautiful Organization Award for providing a better Iowa County through conservation, education and recreation making Iowa a better place to live.

Community of Maquoketa is receiving the Keep Iowa Beautiful Robert D. Ray Award of Excellence for the revitalization efforts through the Maquoketa CAN campaign.

Gerald F. Schnepf is receiving the 2020 Keep Iowa Beautiful Donald F. Lamberti Hometown Pride Vision Award for his many years of service as KIB Executive Director making Iowa a stronger and better place to live and raise a family.

The three Iowa high school seniors are enrolling at Iowa State University and University of Iowa. The $1,000 scholarships are in honor of three pioneers in KIB’s 20-year history:

Molly Simmons from Yale attending Iowa State University.
She is receiving the Byers Environmental Scholarship. Through educator Bob Byers leadership, KIB’s Litter-Free Scholl Campus program was started in NW Iowa. His dedication to young people and environmental concerns was a driving force encouraging young people to help improve their community.

Lydia Johnson from Bondurant attending Iowa State University.
She is receiving Fultz Communication Scholarship. William J. Fultz, founding KIB Board Member and artist, started an advertising agency that became the largest agricultural advertising agency in the world.

Patrick Taylor of Iowa City will be attending the University of Iowa.
He is receiving the Schnepf Community Service Scholarship. Gerald Schnepf, KIB Founding Executive Director, spent 50 years working to make Iowa a better place to live.

The Byers scholarship is supporting high school students who plan to enroll and study environmental science, community development, landscape architecture or architecture (historical emphasis) or community planning and sustainability.

The Fultz scholarship is awarded to a senior planning on studying communications, public relations and/or marketing.

The Schnepf scholarship is awarded to a senior who has a record of community service and a desire to continue to support and contribute to the enhancement of the place they live and work. College programs could include community & regional planning and volunteer management.

About Keep Iowa Beautiful
Keep Iowa Beautiful was established in 2000 by Governor Robert D. Ray and Donald F. Lamberti becoming the 23rd State Affiliate of Keep America Beautiful. The organization is 501c3 charitable organization working with citizens, neighborhoods and communities in improving the vitality and cultural health of the state of Iowa. Keep Iowa Beautiful is helping build stronger communities to develop sustainable futures. Learn more at


To download full image, right-click and choose “save image as”

Molly Simmons

Lydia Johnson

Patrick Taylor