Tammy Votava
communications director
(515) 250-0571

PHOTOS AVAILABLE: 2020-21 Better Boardsmanship Award Winners

Education leaders recognized for commitment to learning and leadership

Des Moines, Iowa (November 22, 2021) – The Iowa Association of School Boards (IASB) presented the 2020-21 Better Boardsmanship Awards on Nov. 18 during the IASB Annual Convention in Des Moines. The awards are given each year to board members, board teams and superintendents/AEA chief administrators who dedicate time and effort to learning, advocacy, leadership and service projects to expand their knowledge and skills for better governance. Applicants must accumulate a specific number of credits to earn these awards.

Individual Achievement Award were presented to 73 board members from 38 K-12 school boards, three area education agency boards and one community college board. Organization and award winner names are listed in the captions of each photo on Flickr.

Team Achievement Award plaques were presented to seven school boards with a majority of board members who won the Individual Achievement Award. Congratulations to Atlantic, Charles City, Davenport, Le Mars, Marshalltown, Solon, and Woodbine.

The Award of Honor was presented to seven superintendents and one AEA chief administrator who invested time and effort to build skills and knowledge needed to be informed decision makers. Congratulations to Steve Barber, Atlantic; Mike Fisher, Charles City; TJ Schneckloth, Davenport; Laurie Noll, Fairfield; Steve Webner, Le Mars; Theron Schutte, Marshalltown; Dan Cox, Northwest AEA; and Davis Eidahl, Solon.

Please visit Flickr for award winner photos with captions. See the separate attachment for a full list of winners.

IASB is a nonprofit organization representing Iowa’s 327 school districts, nine area education agencies and 15 community colleges.


To download full image, right-click and choose “save image as”