The Link



Bus Grants Help Nearly 2,000 Students Discover America's Agricultural Story

Northeast Iowa - Nearly 2,000 students from Northeast Iowa schools now have an opportunity, they may have otherwise missed, to learn firsthand about Iowa's rich agricultural heritage. This year Silos & Smokestacks National Heritage Area (SSNHA) has awarded $10,280 to 37 schools within the Heritage Area; helping cover the costs of field trips to 21 different SSNHA Partner Sites. Some of the sites that will be visited throughout the school year include; Hansen's Farm Fresh Dairy, Hudson; Living History Farms, Urbandale and Herbert Hoover Presidential Museum, West Branch.

The bus grants, which help to cover the transportation costs associated with field trips to SSNHA Partner Sites, are awarded on a first-received, first-funded basis to accredited Pre K-12 public, private or charter schools located in the Heritage Area; with a maximum of $350 per school building. Funding for this program is made possible through individual contributions, corporate donations and federal funds. Specifically SSNHA would like to thank the Growmark Foundation for their 3-year financial contribution to the Bus Grant Program.

"We are excited to once again offer this valuable program that allows each of these students an opportunity to learn more about America's agricultural story by visiting cultural and farm sites here in Iowa," commented Don Short, SSNHA President.

Schools receiving grants include (arranged alphabetically by community):

AGWSR Community Schools, Ackley; Bellevue Elementary, Bellevue; Northeast Hamilton, Blairsburg; Cleveland Elementary, Cedar Rapids; Harding Middle School, Cedar Rapids; Lincoln Elementary, Charles City; Coggon Elementary, Coggon; Decorah Middle School, Decorah; St. Benedict , Decorah; Bryant Elementary, Dubuque; Eleanor Roosevelt Middle School, Dubuque; Union Middle School, Dysart; Learn & Play A to Z, Evansdale; Immaculate Conception School, Gilbertville; Janesville Consolidated School District, Janesville; Maquoketa Middle School, Maquoketa; Dike-New Hartford Junior High, New Hartford; Carpenter Elementary, Monticello; Shannon Elementary, Monticello; Nashua-Plainfield Elementary, Nashua; New Hampton Middle School, New Hampton; Aurora Heights Elementary, Newton; Benton Community Schools, Norway; Osage Middle School, Osage; Preston Community Schools, Preston; Riceville Community School, Riceville; St. Ansgar Community School, St. Ansgar; North-Linn Elementary, Troy Mill; Jensen Elementary, Urbandale; Olmsted Elementary, Urbandale; Rolling Green, Urbandale; Blessed Sacrament, Waterloo; Kittrell Early Childhood Center, Waterloo; Sacred Heart, Waterloo; St. Edward, Waterloo; East Elementary, Waukon; and West Cedar Elementary, Waverly.

SSNHA is currently working to raise funds for the 2013-2014 school year. To donate to the SSNHA Education Scholarship Fund, visit and click on "Giving" along the bottom bar. For more information, contact Angi Reid, Education & Interpretation Manager at (319) 234-4567 or


Silos & Smokestacks National Heritage Area is one of 49 federally designated heritage areas in the nation and is an Affiliated Area of the National Park Service. The Heritage Area covers 37 counties in the northeast quadrant of Iowa. Interstate 80 borders it on the south and Interstate 35 borders it on the west. Through a network of sites, programs and events, SSNHA interprets farm life, agribusiness and rural communities - past and present.

(CONTACT: Angi Reid, Education & Interpretation Manager, Silos & Smokestacks National Heritage Area,
Office: 319.234.4567, Cell: 319.415.9318 or Aaron Steinmann, Marketing & Communications Manager, Silos & Smokestacks National Heritage Area, Office: 319.234.4567, Cell: 563.593.4521)




Times Citizen Communications, Inc. 406 Stevens St. Iowa Falls, IA 50126
Call: 1-800-373-1719 Fax: 641-648-4765 Email:
Copyright© Times Citizen Communications, Inc. All Trademarks or product names
mentioned herein are the properties of their respected owners.