The Link



Area student honored by Saint Mary's University

WINONA, Minn. - Saint Mary's University recognized outstanding senior students Friday, April 12, at the annual Honors Convocation. Highlights of the evening included the announcement of graduate and professional school acceptances, grants and fellowships, and the awarding of the following special honors:

National Delta Epsilon Sigma Awards - Fellowship for Graduate Study, Sarah Anderson, daughter of Joe and Karen Anderson of Lino Lakes, Minn.; Scholarship for Undergraduate Study, Amanda Weber, daughter of Lawrence and Anne Weber of White Bear Lake, Minn.; and National Student Award, Anna Sonday, daughter of David and Mooreen Sonday of West St. Paul, Minn.

Future Alumni Committee Scholarship - Jacinta Jude, daughter of Peter and Anna Maria Jude of Maple Lake, Minn.

Lasallian Honors Program Outstanding Senior Awards - Anna Sonday, daughter of David and Mooreen Sonday of West St. Paul, Minn., and Peter Borash, son of Ron and Ann Borash of Bowlus, Minn.

Creative Spark Award (art and design award) - Brianna Bloomquist, daughter of Brian and Theresa Bloomquist of Brooklyn Center, Minn.

Kevin Martineau Award (business award) - Anna Sonday, daughter of David and Mooreen Sonday of West St. Paul, Minn.

Outstanding Accounting Major (business award) - Kyle Romanchuk, son of Michael and Jane Romanchuk of Anchorage, Alaska

Outstanding Entrepreneurship Student (business award) - Alexander Gilbertson, son of Darrin and Karen Gilbertson of Morristown, Minn.

Outstanding Human Resource Management Student (business award) - Blake Schuster, son of John and Julie Schuster of Mahtomedi, Minn.

Outstanding International Business Student (business award) - Kyle Maas of La Combe, Alberta, Canada

Outstanding Marketing Major (business award) - Anna Sonday, daughter of David and Mooreen Sonday of West St. Paul, Minn.

Outstanding Sport Management Student (business award) - Evan Saunders, son of Lynette Saunders of Chicago, Ill.

American Institute of Chemists Award (chemistry award) - Jake Traxler, son of Timothy and Jeanne Traxler of Le Seuer, Minn.

De La Salle Outstanding Preservice Teaching Awards (education award) - Abby Lough, daughter of Lawrence and Victoria Lough of South St. Paul, Minn., and Jordan Junker, daughter of Jaime and Maureen Junker of Glenwood City, Wis.

Best English Paper Award - Kate Larson, daughter of Michael and Anne Larson of Winona, and Michael John Wolter, son of James and Mary Wolter, Rushford, Minn.

History Department Distinction Awards - Meghan Campbell, daughter of Mary Campbell of Dyersville, Iowa; Anna Sonday, daughter of David and Mooreen Sonday of West St. Paul, Minn.; and Anthony Speltz, son of Peter and Maureen Speltz of Rollingstone, Minn.

Brother J. Robert Lane Historical Essay Award (history award) - Anna Sonday, daughter of David and Mooreen Sonday of West St. Paul, Minn.

Saint Thomas Aquinas Award for Excellence (philosophy award) - Gregory Bim-Merle, son of Matthew and Lucia Bim-Merle of Michigan City, Ind.

Father Andrew Fabian Scholarship (philosophy award) - Randall Vette, son of Lloyd and LeAnn Vette of Spearfish, S.D.

Brother Leo Northam Award (math award) - Sloane Kuramoto, daughter of Stanley and Natalie Kuramoto of Rochester, Minn.

Brother Laurence Walther Founder's Award (music award) - Ashley Buhr, daughter of David and Lisa Buhr of Mankato, Minn., and Rebekah Kisrow, daughter of Michael and Rene Kisrow of Coon Rapids, Minn.

Performance Award (music award) - Jessica Ingvalson, daughter of Tom and Judy Ingvalson of La Crescent, Minn.

Psychology Distinction Awards - Sophie Harrison of Minnetonka, Minn.; Kathryn Metz, daughter of Robert and Maria Metz of Maple Lake, Minn.; and Katherine Smith, daughter of Scott and Elizabeth Smith of Lake Geneva, Wis.

Marilyn Frost Distinction Award (psychology award) - Sophie Harrison of Minnetonka, Minn.

Gerald Sullivan Outstanding Theatre Major Award (theatre award) - Samantha Gibson, daughter of Sally Gibson of Preston, Minn.

Grove Bree Holman Award (theatre award) - Kalinn Bangasser, daughter of Mike and Kathy Bangasser of Rogers, Minn.

Michael G. Flanagan Ghost Light Award (theatre award) - Rachel Kwiecinski, daughter of Bruce and Mary Gail Kwiecinski of Vernon Hills, Ill.


About Saint Mary's University of Minnesota

Saint Mary's University of Minnesota is a private, Lasallian Catholic institution offering comprehensive undergraduate and graduate programs. About 1,300 students are enrolled in the residential undergraduate College at the Winona campus, established in 1912. Approximately 4,600 students are enrolled in the Schools of Graduate and Professional Programs, which offers certificate, bachelor degree completion, master degree and specialist and doctoral programs. The university delivers education to its adult learners through campuses in Minneapolis, Winona and Nairobi, Kenya; centers in Apple Valley, Rochester, Oakdale and Minnetonka; and at numerous other locations in Minnesota, Wisconsin and Jamaica. Saint Mary's is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and is a member of the North Central Association,

(Contact: Deb Nahrgang, Communication director, 507-457-6966;;


How To Download

  • Highlight the caption (if available).
  • Go to EDIT and select COPY.
  • Open your favorite Word Processor and go to EDIT and select PASTE.
  • Click on the Photo or Graphic to begin downloading the full Photo or Graphic to your computer.
Judy Myers, chair of the SMU Department of Theatre and Dance, congratulates theatre award winners Samantha Gibson, left, Rachel Kwiecinski and Kalinn Bangasser, right.
Brianna Bloomquist received the Creative Spark Award from Rob McColl, chairman of the SMU Department of Art and Design
Students Rebekah Kisrow, second from left, Ashley Buhr, center, and Jessica Ingvalson, second from right, received music awards from Dr. Patrick O'Shea and Dr. Janet Heukeshoven of the SMU Department of Music.
Gregory Bim-Merle received the Saint Thomas Aquinas Award for Excellence from Dr. Mark Barber, associate professor of philosophy at Saint Mary's University.
Jacinta Jude, second from left, is pictured with SMU Future Alumni Committee presidents Connie Budin, Jay Olson and Arianna Williams.



Times Citizen Communications, Inc. 406 Stevens St. Iowa Falls, IA 50126
Call: 1-800-373-1719 Fax: 641-648-4765 Email:
Copyright© Times Citizen Communications, Inc. All Trademarks or product names
mentioned herein are the properties of their respected owners.