The Link



Iowa Gaming Association Names 2014 Officers and Board of Directors

Gary Palmer Re-elected as Chairman

The Iowa Gaming Association (IGA) named their 2014 officers and Board designees from each of the 18 member casinos at their recent annual meeting. Gary Palmer, President and CEO of Prairie Meadows, was re-elected to serve as Chairman for another term.

Other Executive Committee officers include:

Tom Timmons, President of Wild Rose Entertainment, West Des Moines; Vice Chair
Kim Pang, General Manager, Diamond Jo Worth, Northwood; Treasurer
Nancy Ballenger, VP & General Manager Isle of Capri, Bettendorf; Secretary

Wes Ehrecke, IGA President & CEO, stated that Palmer's extensive gaming expertise and leadership serving on several other Boards is valuable in his role as IGA Chairman. "Gary is well respected and makes sure all of the members' ideas are heard," Ehrecke said.

He also noted that a new milestone has been reached as 6 of the 18 Board members will be women serving on the Board in 2014. "This reflects the ongoing great advancement opportunities that exist in this industry for women to rise into senior management positions," Ehrecke added.

Palmer served on the Prairie Meadows Board of Directors from 1994-1998 before he became a full-time staff member. He also currently serves on the boards of directors of the Greater Des Moines Partnership, Junior Achievement of Central Iowa, and Grandview University Board of Trustees. Palmer was personally recognized in 2011 along with Prairie Meadows by Iowa Character Counts as that organization's Partners of the Year. In 2013, the Altoona Area Chamber of Commerce presented Palmer with its distinguished Newell Franklin Award. Also in 2013, he chaired the Governor's Luncheon for Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts and The Character Counts All-Star Dinner. He was honored as Father of the Year by American Diabetes Association, and was the Glanton Minority Scholarship honoree.

The other IGA Board Members include:

Monty Terhune, SVP & General Manager, Ameristar Casino, Council Bluffs
Lance George, General Manager, Argosy Casino, Sioux City
Jerry Baum, Chief Operating Officer, Catfish Bend Casino, Burlington
Wendy Runde, General Manager, Diamond Jo Casino, Dubuque
Sharon Haselhoff, General Manager, Grand Falls Casino Resort, Larchwood
Bo Guidry, General Manager, Harrah's Casino & Hotel, Horseshoe Casino and Bluffs Run Greyhound Park, Council Bluffs
Janae Sternberg, VP of Finance, Harrah's Casino & Hotel, Horseshoe Casino & Bluffs Run Greyhound Park, Council Bluffs
Bari Richter, General Manager, Isle Casino Hotel, Waterloo
Don Ostert, General Manager, Lady Luck Wino
Bob Thursby, General Manager, Lakeside Hotel Casino, Osceola
Jesus Aviles, President & CEO, Mystique, Dubuque
Bill Gustafson, General Manager, Rhythm City Casino, Davenport
Dan Franz, General Manager, Riverside Casino & Golf Resort, Riverside
Amy Rubel, General Manager, Wild Rose Casino, Emmetsburg



How To Download

  • Highlight the caption (if available).
  • Go to EDIT and select COPY.
  • Open your favorite Word Processor and go to EDIT and select PASTE.
  • Click on the Photo or Graphic to begin downloading the full Photo or Graphic to your computer.
Gary Palmer



Times Citizen Communications, Inc. 406 Stevens St. Iowa Falls, IA 50126
Call: 1-800-373-1719 Fax: 641-648-4765 Email:
Copyright© Times Citizen Communications, Inc. All Trademarks or product names
mentioned herein are the properties of their respected owners.