The Link



Johnson State College Local Student Assists Johnson State College Men's Tennis Team

Badgers Grab First Win of the Season

Johnson State College took two of the three doubles matches and then four of the six singles matches to defeat Green Mountain College 7-3 on Saturday afternoon in non-conference men's tennis action at the Vermont Sport and Fitness Club.

Green Mountain got off to a strong start in the match as its first flight doubles team of Connor Braden and Nate Berner-Tobin blanked Johnson's number one pairing of Luca Keushguerian and Cole Hennessy, 8-0.

Second flight doubles saw the Badgers' duo of Cory Chase and Alex Pakatar push past the Eagles' Andrew Woodman and Forrest Teutsch, 8-3.

Green Mountain (0-2) had to forfeit its third flight match, giving Kernal Cross and Alex Harcourt the victory.

Braden continued his impressive unbeaten streak to 11-0 to start his collegiate singles career. He won in straight sets over Keushguerian, 6-2, 6-0. Berner-Tobin claimed his first victory of the year as he defeated Hennessy in straight sets in second flight singles action, 6-0, 6-3.

Johnson (1-0) ran the table on the remaining singles matches to claim the match win. Chase recorded a tough straight sets win over Woodman in third flight singles, 6-4, 6-4. In number four singles, Pakatar needed three sets to claim a come-from-behind win over Teutsch, 5-7, 6-4, 10-8. Badgers' Greg Davis was also a straight sets winner in fifth flight singles play as he got by the Eagles' Katherine Getts, 6-3, 6-1. JSC's Zach Baughn claimed a default victory in the number sixth singles spot.

Green Mountain will next host Lyndon State College on Sunday, March 23 in a 1 p.m. start time. Johnson will look to extend its winning ways to start the season on Tuesday, March 18 as the team travels to Norwich to battle the Cadets at 3 p.m.

- 30 -

Elaine Harvey
Johnson State College




Times Citizen Communications, Inc. 406 Stevens St. Iowa Falls, IA 50126
Call: 1-800-373-1719 Fax: 641-648-4765 Email:
Copyright© Times Citizen Communications, Inc. All Trademarks or product names
mentioned herein are the properties of their respected owners.