The Link



Iowa Corn Announces Future of Agriculture Scholarship Recipients

Iowa Corn Announces Future of Agriculture Scholarship Recipients
JOHNSTON, Iowa - April 10, 2014 - Sixteen scholarships will be awarded through the Iowa Corn Future of Agriculture Scholarship program to college students for the 2014-15 school year.

"Iowa Corn is committed to agriculture and sustaining the industry for future generations," said Bob Hemesath, a farmer from Calmar and chair of the Iowa Corn committee that oversees the scholarship program. "We are proud to support students who have a passion for agriculture and take interest in bettering the industry that works so hard to produce the food that Americans eat."

The Iowa Corn Future of Agriculture Scholarship program awards eight $500 first-year scholarships and eight $500 upperclassman scholarships to individuals who are pursuing degrees that will equip them to contribute to the agriculture industry in Iowa. The program is sponsored by the Iowa Corn Growers Association and the Iowa Corn Promotion Board

Applications were judged by a selection committee and applicants were evaluated on their essays, applications, letters of reference, and their current grades and activities. Applicants are also members of the Iowa Corn Growers Association or a dependent of a member.

The following students will be awarded $500 scholarships and will be recognized at the Iowa Corn Annual Meeting in August.

High School Senior Scholarship Winners:
Katelyn Probst, Alton
Izak Christensen, Osage
Michael Tupper, Ionia
Emma Wilson, Guthrie Center
Amy Lund, Polk City
Katie Frederichs, Walcott
Matthew Noland, Adair
Jared Rees, Columbus Junction

College Scholarship Winners:
Katherine Sennert, Linn Grove
Garrett Cole, Grafton
Nick Boehm, Elgin
Kalli Weber, Mapleton
Bailey Morrell, Adel
Kendra Meyer, Ames
Jordan Neighbor, Center Point
Lexi Marek, Riverside
- 30 -

The Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB), works to develop and defend markets, fund research, and provide education about corn and corn products. The Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) is a membership organization lobbying on agricultural issues on behalf of its over 7,800 farmer members. Both organizations work on the joint mission to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability.

Don Mason
Iowa Corn Director of Grower Services




Times Citizen Communications, Inc. 406 Stevens St. Iowa Falls, IA 50126
Call: 1-800-373-1719 Fax: 641-648-4765 Email:
Copyright© Times Citizen Communications, Inc. All Trademarks or product names
mentioned herein are the properties of their respected owners.