The Link



Students honored for academic achievements by Saint Mary's

WINONA, Minn. - Saint Mary's University recognized outstanding senior students Friday, April 11, at the annual Honors Convocation. Highlights of the evening included the announcement of graduate and professional school acceptances, grants and fellowships, and the awarding of the following special honors:

National Delta Epsilon Sigma Awards - National DES undergraduate scholarship, Melissa Radermacher, daughter of Tim and Amy Radermacher of Plymouth, Minn.; National DES graduate scholarship and National DES Student Award, Matthew Traxler, son of Timothy and Jeanne Traxler of Le Sueur, Minn.

Lasallian Honors Program Outstanding Senior Awards - Grace Hoffman, daughter of James and Julie Hoffman of St. Paul; and Evan Shockley, son of Steven and Lisa Shockley of Omaha, Neb.

Creative Spark Award (art and design award) - LeiLani Oas, daughter of John and Joan Oas of Minnesota City, Minn.

Kevin Martineau Award and Outstanding Accounting Major (business awards) - Gabriel Thiel, son of Brian and Debra Thiel of Berlin, Wis.

Outstanding Entrepreneurship Student (business award) - Brooke Bartelt, daughter of David and Connie Bartelt of New Prague, Minn.

Outstanding Human Resource Management Student and Outstanding Marketing Major (business awards) - Kaylee Bunne, daughter of Dominick and Kathi Bunne of Le Roy, Minn.

Outstanding International Business Student (business award) - Cassandra Kujawa, daughter of Chris and Judy Kujawa of South Milwaukee, Wis.

Outstanding Sport Management Student (business award) - Tyler Grabau, son of David and Jean Grabau of Wabasha, Minn.

American Institute of Chemists Award (chemistry award) - Erika Reith, daughter of Theresa Pirozzoli and Kelly Reith of Watertown, Wis.; and Jillian Martin, daughter of Michael and Jennifer Martin of Owatonna, Minn.

American Chemical Society Award (chemistry award) - Eric Amerling, son of Steve and Bobbijo Amerling of Fond Du Lac, Wis.

De La Salle Outstanding Preservice Teaching Awards (education award) - Kaitlyn Keefe, daughter of Daniel and Suzanne Keefe of Chatfield, Minn., and Katherine Wall, daughter of Michael and Michelle Wall of Aurora, Ill.

Outstanding English Paper - Katie Sonnek, daughter of Daniel and Kathleen Sonnek of Lake Crystal, Minn.

History Department Distinction Award and Brother J. Robert Lane Historical Essay Award (history awards) - John Soucheray, son of John and Kate Soucheray of Woodbury, Minn.

Brother Leo Northam Award (math award) - Grace Zachman, daughter of DonEva McPherson of Maple Grove, Minn., and Evan Shockley, son of Steven and Lisa Shockley of Omaha, Neb.

Brother Laurence Walther Founder's Award and Performance Award (music awards) - Augustine Esterhammer-Fic, son of Chris and Mary Esterhammer-Fic of Chicago

Saint Thomas Aquinas Award for Excellence (philosophy award) - Andru O'Brien, son of Scott and Tera O'Brien of Bloomington, Ill.

Father Andrew Fabian Scholarship (philosophy award) - The Hoang, son of Thieu Hoang and Mai Nguyen of Owatonna, Minn.

Brother Jerome Rademacher Award (physics award) - Evan Shockley, son of Steven and Lisa Shockley of Omaha, Neb.

Psychology Distinction Awards - Heidi Martin, daughter of Mark and Sallie Martin of Ankeny, Iowa; Ellie Niedbala, daughter of Richard and Barbara Niedbala of Geneva, Ill.; Amanda Weber, daughter of Lawrence and Anne Weber of White Bear Lake, Minn.; and Shelby DeWall, daughter of Jerry and Sue DeWall of Caledonia, Minn.

Mille Harrison Spirit Award (theatre award) - Seniors Alexander Akers, Anthony Balamut, Charlotte Deranek, Julie Frederickson, Timothy Gleason, Alexander Green, John Goblirsch, Alyson Kriz, Taylor Marshall-Miernicki, Elyssa Mattson, Lydia Munroe, Natasha Nelson, Brian Pipal, Katherine Sapper, and Matthew Schneider.

Grove Bree Holman Award (theatre award) - Katy Kosiek, daughter of James and Judith Kosiek of Hanover Park, Ill., Hans Heukeshoven, son of Eric and Janet Heukeshoven of Winona; and Mary Klinghagen, daughter of Charles and Carla Hansen of Crystal, Minn.

Michael G. Flanagan Ghost Light Award (theatre award) - John Goblirsch, son of Michael Goblirsch and Mariana Ginder of Minneapolis; and Charlotte Deranek, daughter of Suzanne Zablocki Deranek of Winona

Gerald Sullivan Outstanding Theatre Major Award (theatre award) - Katie Sapper, daughter of Steven and Cynthia Sapper of El Cajon, Calif.


About Saint Mary's University of Minnesota

Saint Mary's University of Minnesota awakens, nurtures, and empowers learners to ethical lives of service and leadership. A private Lasallian Catholic institution, Saint Mary's offers comprehensive undergraduate and graduate programs. About 1,200 students are enrolled in the residential undergraduate college in Winona, established in 1912. Approximately 4,300 students are enrolled in the schools of graduate and professional programs, which offers master's and doctoral degrees, as well as bachelor's degree completion, certificate and specialist programs. The university delivers education to adults through campuses in Winona, Minneapolis and Nairobi, Kenya; centers in Apple Valley, Rochester and Oakdale; and at numerous other locations in Minnesota, Wisconsin and Jamaica. Saint Mary's is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and is a member of the North Central Association.

(Contact: Deb Nahrgang, Communication Director, 507-457-6966;;


How To Download

  • Highlight the caption (if available).
  • Go to EDIT and select COPY.
  • Open your favorite Word Processor and go to EDIT and select PASTE.
  • Click on the Photo or Graphic to begin downloading the full Photo or Graphic to your computer.
Dr. Christian Michener, director of the Lasallian Honors Program at Saint Mary's University, presents Grace Hoffman and Evan Shockley with the Lasallian Honors Program Outstanding Senior Awards.
Rob McColl, chair of the Saint Mary's University Department of Art and Design, presents LieLani Oas with the Creative Spark Award.
Dr. Brett Bodsgard, chair of of the Saint Mary's University Department of Chemistry, presents American Institute of Chemists Awards to Jillian Martin, left, and Erika Reith.
Dr. Kristen Sellke, assistant professor of mathematics, computer science and statistics at Saint Mary's University, presents the Brother Leo Northam Award to Grace Zachman and Evan Shockley.
Evan Shockley earned multiple academic awards April 11 at Saint Mary's University. Dr. Paul Weiner, interim chair of the Department of Physics, presented Shockley with the Brother Jerome Rademacher Award.



Times Citizen Communications, Inc. 406 Stevens St. Iowa Falls, IA 50126
Call: 1-800-373-1719 Fax: 641-648-4765 Email:
Copyright© Times Citizen Communications, Inc. All Trademarks or product names
mentioned herein are the properties of their respected owners.