The Link



Corn Checkoff Holds Director Elections

JOHNSTON, Iowa - April 22, 2014 - Since 1978, Iowa corn growers have elected their peers to serve on the Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB) to oversee the investment of funds generated by the Iowa corn checkoff. As established by Iowa Code, a portion of the board seats are up for election each year.

On July 15, 2014 corn growers in Crop Reporting Districts 1 (Northwest), 3 (Northeast) and 6 (East Central) can vote at their local county extension office for their representation on the ICPB for a 3-year term. The Board's primary activities include domestic and foreign market development, research into new and value-added corn uses, and education about the corn industry.

Other corn producers within districts 1, 3 and 6 who are interested in running for a position may still file a petition with the ICPB. Petitions can be obtained by contacting the ICPB office and must contain the signature of 25 corn producers from the same district as the prospective candidate. Completed and notarized petitions must be delivered to the ICPB office no later than 4:30 p.m. on May 2, 2014. Once all grower petitions have been received, a final list of candidates will be generated and all names will be listed on the election ballots.

Anyone who has produced and marketed 250 bushels of corn or more in Iowa in the previous marketing year (September 1, 2012 to August 31, 2013) is eligible to vote in the election. Producers unable to visit the extension office on July 15 may vote by absentee ballot. Absentee ballots are available by request May 30 - June 30 by contacting the Iowa Corn office at 515-225-9242. Absentee ballots must be postmarked no later than July 15.

Current candidates are as follows:

USDA Crop Reporting District #1 (Lyon, Osceola, Dickinson, Emmet, Sioux, O'Brien, Clay, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Cherokee, Buena Vista and Pocahontas)
* Lowell Appleton, O'Brien County
* Kelly Nieuwenhuis, O'Brien County

USDA Crop Reporting District #3 (Howard, Winneshiek, Allamakee, Chickasaw, Bremer, Fayette, Clayton, Black Hawk, Buchanan, Delaware and Dubuque)
* Greg Alber, Buchanan County
* Kermit Allard, Black Hawk County

USDA Crop Reporting District #6 (Benton, Linn, Jones, Jackson, Iowa, Johnson, Cedar, Clinton, Muscatine and Scott)
* Pete Brecht, Linn County
* Lance Lillibridge, Benton County

- 30 -

For more information on the ICPB or director elections, please contact the ICPB office at (515) 225-9242 or by mail at 5505 NW 88th Street, Johnston, IA 50131.

Mindy Williamson
Communications & PR Director
(515) 225-9242




Times Citizen Communications, Inc. 406 Stevens St. Iowa Falls, IA 50126
Call: 1-800-373-1719 Fax: 641-648-4765 Email:
Copyright© Times Citizen Communications, Inc. All Trademarks or product names
mentioned herein are the properties of their respected owners.