The Link



Winners Announced in Iowa Corn Indy 300 T-Shirt Design Contest

JOHNSTON, Iowa - April 29, 2014 - Hannah Heerkes, a freshman from Dike-New Hartford High School and Chyenne Lemmon, a senior from Seymour High School were the 2 lucky winners of $250 in ethanol gift cards.

The Grundy County Corn Growers presented Hannah with her prize at their county meeting on April 3, 2014. "Spreading the word to consumers and students about farming and the importance of corn for our state is important for future generations," said Terry Johnston, Grundy County Corn Grower Associate member.

Ray Cook, farmer and ICGA member from Wayne County presented Chyenne with her prize. "We want young people to understand and learn more about Iowa Corn and become an advocate for the agriculture industry. The Iowa Corn Indy 300 is a national event promoting ethanol, a home-grown fuel grown by our farmers so it's great that students were involved in this contest," said Cook.

Over 70 entries were received from local high-school students. A concept from each of the winner's designs was incorporated in the final design that will be worn on July 12, 2014 at the Iowa Speedway.

- 30 -

The Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB), works to develop and defend markets, fund research, and provide education about corn and corn products. The Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) is a membership organization lobbying on agricultural issues on behalf of its 7,800 farmer members. Both organizations work on the joint mission to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability.

Shannon Textor
Market Development Director




Times Citizen Communications, Inc. 406 Stevens St. Iowa Falls, IA 50126
Call: 1-800-373-1719 Fax: 641-648-4765 Email:
Copyright© Times Citizen Communications, Inc. All Trademarks or product names
mentioned herein are the properties of their respected owners.