The Link



Saint Mary's presents Student Life awards to students, faculty, staff

WINONA, Minn. - Saint Mary's University recognized outstanding students, faculty and staff April 23 at the Student Life Awards Ceremony. Individuals who have exhibited outstanding leadership and service through co-curricular activities at Saint Mary's were recognized.

Awards included:

Brother Finbar McMullen Award (presented to an SMU community member who demonstrates him/herself to be an individual who unselfishly meets the needs of the undergraduate students of Saint Mary's) - Brother Lawrence Humphrey, FSC, assistant vice president for mission at Saint Mary's

Charlene "Char" Tjaden Outstanding Resident Assistant Award - Theresa LaValla, daughter of John and Susan LaValla of Saint Charles, Minn.

Intramural Official of the Year - Courtney Euerle, daughter of Greg and Sharon Euerle of Litchfield, Minn.

Outdoor Leadership Recognition - Jamie Herrick, strength and conditioning coach, physical education instructor and facilities assistant, as well as ropes course facilitator at Saint Mary's

Club/Organization of the Year - Big and Little Pals (accepted by Mae Yang, daughter of Yeng and Panee Yang of Minneapolis, Minn., and Kacie Kusinski, daughter of Dan and Janet Kusinski of Chicago)

Outstanding Student Senator of the Year Award - Miles Dunna, son of Wokie Dunna of St. Paul, Minn.

Club and Organization Advisor of the Year - Steven McGlaun, dean of campus ministry at Saint Mary's

Winona Community Service Award - Katie Wall, daughter of Michael and Michelle Wall of Aurora, Ill.

Saint Benilde Award (presented to students who reach out to new members of the university community, are inclusive and inspiring, and lead by being hospitable, open and accepting) - Sarah McNary, daughter of William and Donna McNary of DeForest, Wis.

Brother James Miller Award (presented to a student who has dedicated his/her college experience to promoting the legacy of Brother James Miller, spreading the compassion of God and continually serving the community) - Elizabeth Arnold, daughter of Thomas and Patricia Arnold of Cincinnati, Ohio

Brother Charlie Burke Award (presented to a faculty or staff member who has made significant contributions to the entire Student Life Department. This individual has promoted the growth of the whole student through their exemplary standard of ethical service, dedication to creating developmental relationships, and their desire to promote lifelong learning) - Lance Thompson, director of student activities at Saint Mary's

Student Service Award - Abigail Osborne, daughter of Roger and Pamela Osborne of Winthrop, Minn.

Leadership Certificate (presented to students who have completed the co-curricular program designed to give both emerging and advanced leaders the skills and knowledge to enhance his or her leadership development) - Samantha Borawski, daughter of Richard and Cynthia Borawski of Stickney, Ill.; Maetzin Cruz-Reyes, daughter of Rosario Cruz Garcia and Luisa Reyes-Ortiz; Conner Ellinghuysen, son of Robert and Lorrie Rinn of Winona; Hannah Friedrich, daughter of Mary Friedrich of Rochester, Minn.; Peter Hegland, son of James Hegland of Utica, Minn.; Jose Herrera, son of Mr. and Mrs. Jose Herrera of Chicago; Elisabeth Ortega, daughter of Elizabeth Ortega of Berwyn, Ill.; Christine Volk, daughter of Bryan and Kim Volk of Champlin, Minn.; and Emily Weber, daughter of Lawrence and Anne Weber of White Bear Lake, Minn.


About Saint Mary's University of Minnesota

Saint Mary's University of Minnesota awakens, nurtures, and empowers learners to ethical lives of service and leadership. A private Lasallian Catholic institution, Saint Mary's offers comprehensive undergraduate and graduate programs. About 1,200 students are enrolled in the residential undergraduate college in Winona, established in 1912. Approximately 4,300 students are enrolled in the schools of graduate and professional programs, which offers master's and doctoral degrees, as well as bachelor's degree completion, certificate and specialist programs. The university delivers education to adults through campuses in Winona, Minneapolis and Nairobi, Kenya; centers in Apple Valley, Rochester and Oakdale; and at numerous other locations in Minnesota, Wisconsin and Jamaica. Saint Mary's is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and is a member of the North Central Association.

(Contact: Deb Nahrgang, Communication Director, 507-457-6966,,


How To Download

  • Highlight the caption (if available).
  • Go to EDIT and select COPY.
  • Open your favorite Word Processor and go to EDIT and select PASTE.
  • Click on the Photo or Graphic to begin downloading the full Photo or Graphic to your computer.
Theresa LaValla received the Charlene "Char" Tjaden Outstanding Resident Assistant Award from Nick Lauer, hall director, and Tim Gossen, dean of student, at Saint Mary's University.
Miles Dunna received the Outstanding Senator of the Year Award from Saint Mary's University Student Senate President Katie Zuzek.
Chris Kendall, left, vice president of Student Life at Saint Mary's University, presented the Outdoor Leadership Award to Jamie Herrick, athletics.
Lance Thompson, right, receives the Brother Charlie Burke Award from Tim Gossen, dean of students at Saint Mary's University.
Abigail Osborne receives the Student Service Award from Chris Kendall, vice president of Student Life at Saint Mary's University.



Times Citizen Communications, Inc. 406 Stevens St. Iowa Falls, IA 50126
Call: 1-800-373-1719 Fax: 641-648-4765 Email:
Copyright© Times Citizen Communications, Inc. All Trademarks or product names
mentioned herein are the properties of their respected owners.