For more info, contact:
Kim Ralston, MVMA Communications


(January 26, 2021) – Veterinarians, veterinary technicians, practice staff and veterinary students attended the Missouri Veterinary Medical Association’s 129th Annual Convention on January 21-24, 2021. Due to COVID-19 concern s the event was held online and live-streamed to members’ homes and offices. The convention offered over 80 virtual continuing education lectures to participants. It is hoped that next year the annual event will return as a live event.

Newly installed officers include:
Marcy Hammerle, DVM – President, St. Charles, Mo.
Edward Migneco, DVM – President-elect, St. Louis, Mo.
Matt Silvius, DVM – Vice President, Riverside, Mo.
Shelia Taylor, DVM – Secretary/Treasurer, Springfield, Mo.
David Gourley, DVM – Board Chair, Mountain Grove, Mo.

Richard Antweiler serves as Executive Director

Awards included:

Steve M. Strubberg, DVM, Missouri State Veterinarian, New Haven, Mo. was honored as the recipient of the coveted 2021 Veterinarian of the Year Award. Dr. Kacie Ulhorn, presented the award to Dr. Strubberg at the ceremony.

Dr. Strubberg grew up in Union, Missouri, with the intentions of becoming a physician. Driven by his love for science, the outdoors and animals, he soon discovered his passion lie in a different field. In 1989, he received his Doctorate in Veterinary Medicine from the University of Missouri. Following graduation, he assumed ownership and operated Hermann Veterinary Clinic, a mixed animal practice in Hermann, Missouri, for nearly 30 years.

He was named the State Veterinarian of Missouri in April 2019. As Missouri State Veterinarian, his vision is to continue to advance animal agriculture within the state and provide health and care for each individual animal.

Dr. Strubberg currently resides on a beef cattle operation in Gasconade County and has a stepdaughter and two grandchildren.

The MVMA Board of Directors selects the Veterinarian of the Year based on the candidate’s contributions to their community, their state, and to people whose lives they have touched.

The MVMA’s annual President’s Award is given to individuals who were instrumental to the President’s efforts to advance the veterinary profession for the betterment of animal health in the state.

Dr. David Gourley, MVMA past president, presented this year’s award to Dr. Missy Gourley.
She practices small-animal medicine and surgery at Whetstone Veterinary Clinic, Mountain Grove, Mo. She received her Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree from the University of Missouri – College of Veterinary Medicine in 1996.
Dr. Jessica Stroupe, Fayette, Mo., received the MVMA’s Ortu Stella Award. The award for early career leadership was presented to Dr. Stroupe by Dr. Ken Vroman.

Dr. Stroupe graduated from the University of Missouri College of Veterinary Medicine in May 2012. She is owner/practitioner of Howard County Veterinary Service, Fayette, Mo. She is an active member of many veterinary organizations including past officer of the MVMA Academy, past president of the West Central Veterinary Medical Association, at-large delegate on the MVMA Executive Board, and an active member of the Women’s Veterinary Leadership Initiative.

The Ortu Stella recipient must in some way shine brightly, aid comrades in navigating the veterinary profession, assist in illumining the path for those around them, and/or demonstrate that they habitually strive to rise to the occasion.

Abbie Knudsen, Auxvasse, Mo. was presented the MVMA’s 2021 William A. Wolff Volunteerism Award for organizing a major pet food drive during the pandemic. The award was presented to Ms. Knudsen by Dr. Amie Burling and Dr. Cathy Vogelweid, chair of the MVMA’s Emergency Management & Public Health Committee.

Ms. Knudsen is a student at the University of Missouri-College of Veterinary Medicine. She is co-founder of the Missouri Coalition of Animal Care Organizations and the Midwest Animal Sheltering Conference and has been involved in many pet-related charitable events to ease pain and suffering. She was executive director for the National Tiger Sanctuary in Saddlebrook, Mo.

Lori Muhlenbruch, Lake Ozark, Mo., received the Distinguished Service Award from the Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation (MVMF). Dr. Scott Fray presented the award to Mrs. Muhlenbruch.

Mrs. Muhlenbruch is Program Coordinator for the MVMA. She is responsible for programs within the Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation including the Veterinary Honor Roll and Animal Archives among others. She also serves as a staff member to the Foundation’s Board, MVMA Academy, and the association’s districts.

Dr. Richard Linn, Ozark, Mo., received the MVMA Academy Distinguished Service Award. The award was presented to Dr. Linn by Dr. Julie King, president of the MVMA Academy.

Dr. Linn is owner/practitioner at Ozark Veterinary Clinic, Ozark, Mo. He has been with the practice since 1985. He received his doctorate in veterinary medicine from the University of Missouri College of Veterinary Medicine in 1983. He is highly involved with Christian Veterinary Mission projects, 4-H Veterinary Science Program, and is a member of the Missouri Volunteer Veterinary Corps.

MVMA Academy Distinguished Service Award recipients are individuals who have rendered meritorious service to promoting and advancing continuing education in the veterinary profession.

2021 MVMA Academy officers include:
Caitlin DeWilde, DVM – President, St. Louis, Mo.
Betsy Marziani, DVM – Vice President, St. Louis, Mo.

2021 Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation officers include:
Philip R. Brown, DVM – Chair, Chillicothe, Mo.
Scott Fray, DVM – Vice Chair, Boonville, Mo.
George Buckaloo, DVM – Secretary/Treasurer, Lake Tapawingo, Mo.


To download full image, right-click and choose “save image as”

MVMA’s 2021 Veterinarian of the Year Award was presented to Dr. Steve Strubberg (left), New Haven, Mo. at ceremonies held January 23rd.

Dr. Kacie Ulhorn (left) presented the award to Dr. Strubberg.

MVMA President’s Award was presented to Dr. Missy Gourley, Mountain Grove, Mo. at ceremonies held January 23rd. Her husband, David Gourley (left), presented the award.

Dr. Marcy Hammerle, president, St. Charles, Mo.

Dr. Edward Migneco, president-elect, St. Louis, Mo.

Dr. Matt Silvius, vice-president, Riverside, Mo.

Dr. Shelia Taylor, secretary-treasurer, Springfield, Mo.

Dr. David Gourley, board chair, Mountain Grove, Mo.