University Communications

Best of 2018-19: Students, groups earn Wood, leadership, co-op awards

More than 100 recognized during year-end program

Menomonie, Wis. (May 14, 2019) – More than 100 students and student groups were recognized recently at University of Wisconsin-Stout’s annual Leadership Awards program.

Winners were announced for the Samuel E. Wood Medallion and campus Leadership Awards for the 2018-19 academic year. Also, the Outstanding Co-op Student of the Year Award winners were named for the 2018 calendar year. Those nominated for awards were also recognized.

The event was sponsored by the Involvement Center, Stout Student Association and Career Services and was held in the Great Hall of the Memorial Student Center.

Wood Medallion
A total of 22 students received the Wood Medallion, given annually to seniors who have been active in student activities and exhibited an outstanding degree of leadership while at UW-Stout. Winners are chosen by a committee representing students, faculty and staff.

The medallion is the highest nonacademic award for students.

Samuel E. Wood was a longtime assistant chancellor for Students Services/Dean of Students. He retired in 1991 and died in February 2013.

Leadership Awards
Winners of the annual Leadership Awards are chosen by a committee made up of students and staff.

Outstanding Co-op Student of the Year Award
The Outstanding Co-op Student of the Year Award was given to 18 students in the university’s Cooperative Education Program.

More than 1,000 students participated in co-ops in the past year. Through Career Services, students work in a paid position in their fields of study and receive academic credit.

The award winners are selected by the program’s Advisory Committee for excellence and achievements in their cooperative positions, for contributions to their employers and for academic achievement.

UW-Stout is Wisconsin’s Polytechnic University, with a focus on applied learning, collaboration with business and industry, and career outcomes.


To download full image, right-click and choose “save image as”

Wood Medallion winners: Front row, left to right, Andrea Bertram, Aarica Humke, PaChee Yang, Rebecca Silberfarb, Jordyn Krahn, Hailey Hansen and Kyla Bergstrom. Second row, left to right, Lucas Morgan, McKayla Pederson, Emily Wettergren, Emilie Horvath, McKenzie Librande, Kayla Boyd, Kalley Bergstrom. Third row, left to right, Talen Londre, Kylie Anderson, Ashley Brisbin, Jessi Weber, Emily Doroff, Hannah Bragelman, Brianna Buhl.

Co-op winners: First row, left to right, Rana Pluemer, Maizee Freeman. Olivia Flicker, Annalise Mark, Chancellor Bob Meyer, Hannah Gostonczik, Abigail Fawcett. Second row, left to right, Jordynn Fitzgerald, Drake Gadbois, Katelynn Chamberlin, Alexandra Bauer, Abbigail Winski, Jessica DuVal, Austin Wheaton, Kyle Zeilinger. Third row, left to right, Joseph Kannel, Christopher George, Taylor Thomas, Cole Gonyea.

Canon Deon won the Outstanding Student Leader of the Year Award