Kim Ralston
MVMA Communications


Over 600 veterinarians, veterinary technicians, practice staff and veterinary students attended the Missouri Veterinary Medical Association’s 127th Annual Convention on January 24-27, 2019 at the Holiday Inn Executive Center, Columbia, Mo. The convention offered over 60 continuing education lectures to participants.

Newly installed officers include:

Carol Ryan, DVM -President, Troy, Mo.
David L. Gourley, DVM – President Elect, Mountain Grove, Mo.
Marcy Hammerle, – Vice President, O’Fallon, Mo.
Cynthia Vedder-Penrod, DVM – Board Chair, Fulton, Mo.
Shelia L. Taylor, DVM – Secretary/Treasurer, Springfield, Mo.
Richard D. Antweiler serves as Executive Director

Awards included:

Charles L. Barry, DVM, owner/practitioner at Lifetime Animal Center, Warrensburg, Mo. was honored at the Missouri Veterinary Medical Association’s (MVMA) 127th Annual Convention on January 26th as the recipient of the coveted Veterinarian of the Year Award. Diane Thompson, Johnson County Clerk, presented the award to Dr. Barry at the ceremony.

Dr. Barry is a 1987 graduate of the University of Missouri, College of Veterinary Medicine. He is the owner of Lifetime Animal Center, a two doctor, mixed animal practice located in Warrensburg, MO. Professionally, Dr. Barry has been a lifelong member of the AVMA, MVMA, and the MVMA Academy. He also has had long- term membership over the years with the AABP and AAEP. In his community, Dr. Barry has been a member and deacon of Grover Park Baptist Church, serving on several committees, the board of directors, and leading Sunday school classes. He also is a member of the Warrensburg Rotary Club and is currently serving with the Warrensburg Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. An Eagle Scout, Dr. Barry has continued supporting the Scouting organization as Scoutmaster for BSA Troop 513.

The MVMA Board of Directors selects the Veterinarian of the Year based on the candidate’s contributions to their community, their state, and to people whose lives they have touched.

The MVMA’s annual President’s Award is given to individuals who were instrumental to the President’s efforts to advance the veterinary profession for the betterment of animal health in the state. Dr. Cynthia Vedder-Penrod, MVMA past-president, presented this year’s award to Abby Whiting, DVM.

Dr. Whiting is a practitioner at Veterinary Specialty Services in St. Louis. In addition to her work as a veterinarian she is also a moderator for Not One More Vet (NOMV) which strives to prevent veterinarian suicide. She is a former graduate of the American Veterinary Medical Association’s Veterinary Leadership Experience.

The Christian Veterinary Mission, was presented the MVMA’s 2019 William A. Wolff Volunteerism Award for its many years of service to veterinary medicine in Missouri and around the world. The award was presented to Dr. Richard Linn, a volunteer for the organization, by Dr. Bill Jones.

William Shore, DVM, Woodstock, Georgia, received the Distinguished Service Award from the Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation (MVMF). Dr. Scott Fray, vice chair of the Foundation, presented the award to Dr. Shore.

Dr. Shore served as chairman of the Foundation from 2014-2017. He is a lifetime retired member of the MVMA. Since 1992, Dr. Shore was the owner-practitioner at Brentwood Animal Hospital in St. Louis, Mo. He was honored by the St. Louis Magazine as a Five Star Veterinarian in 2010.

Julie Braun, Osage Bend, Mo., received the MVMA Academy Distinguished Service Award. The award was presented to Mrs. Braun by Dr. Jessica Stroupe, president of the MVMA Academy.

Mrs. Braun is the operations manager for the MVMA. She has worked for the association for 13 years. In the course of these duties she coordinates over 60 speakers and various sponsors for over 100 hours of presentation that comprises one of the major veterinary continuing education programs in the state of Missouri. She was the recipient of the MVMA Presidents Award in 2010.

MVMA Academy honorary members are individuals who have rendered distinguished or meritorious service to the veterinary profession.

2019 MVMA Academy officers include:

Bruce Whittle, DVM – President, Trenton, Mo.
Julie King, DVM – Vice President, Ozark, Mo.

2019 Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation officers include:

Philip R. Brown, DVM – Chair, Chillicothe, Mo.
Scott Fray, DVM – Vice chair, Boonville, Mo.
George Buckloo, DVM – Secretary/Treasurer, Lake Tapawingo, Mo.
Roger Dozier, DVM – Museum Director, Jefferson City, Mo.


To download full image, right-click and choose “save image as”

MVMA’s 2019 Veterinarian of the Year Award was presented to Dr. Charles Barry (left), Warrensburg, Mo. at ceremonies held January 26th in Columbia, Mo. Diane Thompson (left) presented the award to Dr. Barry.

(From left:) Newly installed MVMA officers with Dr. John Howe, American Veterinary Medical Association president-elect (far left): Dr. Carol Ryan, president, Troy, Mo.; Dr. David Gourley, president-elect, Mountain Grove, Mo.; Dr. Marcy Hammerle, vice-president, O’Fallon, Mo.; Dr. Cynthia Vedder-Penrod, board chair, Fulton, Mo.